The Creek Don’t Rise

From my sister site “Travels and Tomes”– about the beginnings of the move from Germany to Florida.

Travels and Tomes: One Expat's Amblings and Ramblings

DSC_0018 Rain fell this morning.

I have a buddy named Vic. I haven’t seen him since about 2001, but never mind that– Vic is one of those friendly people that you count your pal despite the decades that may intervene between your visits. I can’t say that I’ve had many occasions to think about Vic in the back and forth of my day to day life, but this week he’s been a constant companion, whispering in my ear every time I look out the windows off the back of my house.

IMG_20160714_063514
Vic is from Georgia, down to the very marrow in his bones. He’s prone to phrases like “knee high to a grasshopper,” so when he whispers in your ear it’s a voice that is distinct and immediately recognizable.
One of Vic’s favorite phrases back in the early 90’s was “Good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise.” It was applicable…

View original post 876 more words

Leave a Reply

